Cyril Keattch Award Competition

Mackenzie-Redfern Bursary Competition

The TMG Cyril Keattch Award Competition is held biennially in memory of the Group’s first Secretary, who held the post from 1965 until his untimely death in 1999. The Award is made to an outstanding early career scientist working in the field of thermal analysis or calorimetry to enable them to present a paper based on their work at an International Conference. It consists of an Award Certificate and a grant of up to £1000 towards the Conference Registration fee, travel and living expenses at the Conference.

Dr Cyril J Keattch

1st TMG Secretary

Served from 1965 to 1999

Dr Robert C Mackezie

TMG Founder Member

& 1st TMG Chairman

Dr John P Redfern

TMG Founder Member

& 2nd TMG Chairman

The 2020 Cyril Keattch Award will be associated with the 17th International Confederation for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry Congress (ICTAC 17) which will be held on August 30th - September 4th, 2020 in Krakow, Poland.

The TMG has also established the Mackenzie-Redfern Bursaries in memory of Dr Robert Mackenzie and Dr John Redfern the Group’s founders. The purpose of the Bursaries is to help early career scientists present a paper or poster at a TMG TAC National Conference. For 2020, the Bursaries will be awarded to the three best entries for the 2020 Cyril Keattch Award and will consist of a prize of £150 and an Award Certificate.

Candidates must be resident in the UK. Those wishing to apply should have normally worked for up to ten years at the post-graduate level and any periods of leave, (such as, but not limited to, maternity leave) should be documented. Candidates should supply a nomination letter from a senior colleague, a full curriculum vitae and a one page abstract of the paper that they intend to present at 17th ICTAC.

The submissions will be reviewed by a TMG sub-committee. The authors of the best three entries will then be invited to give a 20 minute presentation (including questions) at the TAC 2020 Conference which will be held on the 7th - 8th April 2020 at University of Leicester ( The winner of the Cyril Keattch competition will be announced at the Conference dinner.

The submissions should be submitted in electronic format to the TMG Chairman, Dr Duncan Price ( ‎by the 16th March 2020.